About Us


Community Action

Events Calendar

Become a Member


2013-2014 Board of Directors

Paul Johnson, Chair

Cumberland County

Kevin Klug, Vice Chair

Lee County

Carl Anthony, Treasurer

Cumberland County

Richard Bryant, Jr.

Cumberland County

Jerry Dietzen

Cumberland County

Harry Huberth

Moore County

Jon Parsons

Cumberland County

Diana Potts

Harnett County

Jason Butler

Columbus County

Ex Officio Members

Gregory Bean

Fort Bragg Directorate of Public Works

Greg Burns

NC Department of Transportation, Fayetteville Office

David Heins

Fort Bragg Directorate of Public Works

Chris Russo

NC Department of Environment and Natural Resources

Colonel Jeffrey Sanborn

Garrison Commander, Fort Bragg

search         sitemap


Hanah Ehrenreich, Interim Executive Director
(910) 484-9098 or (315) 481-1462 cell

Hanah is the Interim Executive Director for Sustainable Sandhills. She is a vocal advocate and engaging public speaker on the topic of smart growth and on Buy Local economic development policies. She earned an MSc in Violence, Conflict, and Development Studies from the School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS), University of London; and a BA in Government with Honors from Smith College. Hanah was heavily involved in sustainable development and local economy-building in Syracuse, New York and is committed to the progression of the Sandhills as a vibrant and forward thinking region. She has lived and worked in London, Israel, Belfast, and Washington, DC..



Gloria Lengel, Green Schools Coordinator
(910) 678-7046  

Green Schools Coordinator Gloria Lengel brings 30+ years as a North Carolina educator to Sustainable Sandhills, with expertise in Earth and Environmental Sciences.  She is a certified North Carolina Environmental Educator.  Gloria is presently working on her Master's in Environmental Education from Montreat College in the mountains of North Carolina.  Her thesis is researching the factors that influence the retention of beekeepers in the field.  She teaches classes and mentors beekeepers through the North Carolina State Beekeeping Association and locally with the Hoke County beekeepers.

Green Business Certification Coordinator

Sustainable Sandhills Press Kit


Fact Sheet

Advertise with us


Our History

In 2000, Fort Bragg leadership took a proactive stand to ensure the long-term viability of the installation.  By mid-2002, the installation's newly formed Sustainable Fort Bragg (SFB) program had succeeded in identifying its environmental footprint, and based on that information, developed goals contered on air, water, energy, education, and construction to reduce that footprint.

Realizing that environmental impacts don't stop at the installation boundary, Fort Bragg and the NC Department of Environment and Natural Resources convened stakeholders from the surrounding communities to propose the idea of a new partnership - the Sustainable Sandhills initiative.  In February 2003, a Steering Committee was establised in order to keep the momentum going and take the necessary steps to turn the idea into a plan.  The Steering committee decided that four conditions must be met in order to have a sustainable society:


      • Don’t rely on nonrenewable resources;
      • Don’t systematically increase synthetic products that don’t biodegrade;
      • Don’t degrade nature’s services (trees that create oxygen, wetlands that provide habitat and filter water); and
      • Make sure everyone’s basic needs are met.

Since 2003, the initiative has evolved into an independent 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, governed by a volunteer Board of Directors.  In 2005, it expanded to eight counties by adding Lee and Montgomery counties to the original six counties: Cumberland, Hoke, Harnett, Moore, Richmond, and Scotland. 

See our 501(c)(3) letter.  See our By Laws

Board Records

2011-2012 SS Board Records

2010-2011 SS Board Records

2009-2010 SS Board Records